Lil Durk Drops 7220, Titled After His Childhood Home

Born on October 19, 1992, Durk Derrik Banks, professionally known as Lil Durk, is an American rapper and singer from Chicago, Illinois. When he was younger, he recalls there being instances when he didn’t have enough food at home. His first breakthrough was on social media channels like Myspace and YouTube. He grew fond of the idea of being a rapper as his online fan base began to expand. At 17, he became a father and dropped out of Paul Robeson High School. he took his career more seriously to join the Black Disciples, a street gang in Chicago.

 In 2011, Banks started taking music seriously. After his plans to sign with Chief Keef and French Montana fell through, he took on rapping full-time. Following the release of his two singles, “Sneak Dissin” and “Sneak Dissin 2”, “I’m a Hitta,” each of which earned. The feedback has been overwhelmingly good. Durk’s third mixtape, “Life Ain’t No Joke, was released on October 19, 2012. The mixtape has been downloaded over 216,000 times on DatPiff as of September 22, 2015. Durk re-released the song “L’s Anthem” in December 2012, which had been reworked and included French Montana. With the acclaim of “L’s Anthem” and its follow-up single, “Dis Ain’t What U Want,” in 2013, Durk acquired a joint venture deal with his collective Only the Family (OTF) and Def Jam Recordings.

With the release of his Signed to the Streets mixtape series (2013–2014), Durk gained a cult following and a record deal with Def Jam Recordings. Before dumping the artist in 2018, the label released his first two studio albums, Remember My Name (2015) and Lil Durk 2X (2016). before the artist was dropped in 2018. With the single “Viral Moment” off his fifth studio album, Just Cause Y’all Waited for 2, Durk made his debut appearance on the Billboard Hot 100 in April 2020. Durk made his first appearance on the Billboard Hot 100 with the single “Viral Moment” off his fifth studio album, Just Cause Y’all Waited for 2 (2020). Lil Durk’s commercial comeback proceeded with singles such as “3 Headed Goat” (featuring Polo G and Lil Baby), “Backdoor,” and “The Voice.” His features on Drake’s 2020 single, “Laugh Now Cry Later” and Pooh Shiesty’s song, “Back in Blood,” as well as his LPs, The Voice (2020) and his joint album with Lil BabyThe Voice of the Heroes (2021), became his first release to debut atop the Billboard 200.

Studio albums

  • Remember My Name (2015)Lil Durk 2X (2016)
  • Signed to the Streets 3 (2018)
  • Love Songs 4 the Streets 2 (2019)
  • Just Cause Y’all Waited for 2 (2020)
  • The Voice (2020)
  • 7220(2022)

Newly released album

Lil Durk’s career path has been inspiring to watch. He is one of the most talented artists to emerge out of Chicago drill, Durk scored a few minor hits before his career sat in label limbo for a few years. It never stopped him from releasing quality music. He kept that same foundation after his career exploded with the mixtape “Just Cause Y’all Waited for 2″ and “Laugh Now, Cry Later” with Drake. 7220 is available now to stream featuring some of today’s best artists including, Gunna, Future, and Summer Walker.

Songs in 7220

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Previous post Kade Fresco Releases New Video, “Fake Love” featuring Lil Baby
Next post BenFrank Dro Breaking Barriers With New EP
%d bloggers like this: